Skip to main content
Concord Academy

05) Setting permissions for pages

When creating a page in CA Connect, it is important to identify who can view the page, who can edit the page, and who can find the page.

You have a great deal of granular control

When you first build a page, it will inherit the edit, view, and find permissions of the page above it. You can override these settings by clicking on the Restrict access link under the Page options button on the Mindtouch toolbar. 

 

This document explains how to control the ability a user or group has to view or edit content on your CA Connect pages. It also describes the different roles a user or group can have and explains how to assign those roles. These restrictions and permissions can be applied to individual pages as well as hierarchies.

This article provides details about modifying the permissions for an individual page or for a group of pages. 

Description

MindTouch permissions are extremely flexible and provide you with user, role, and group management.

Content within MindTouch can be restricted to be Public, Semi-Public, Semi-Private, or Private.

This table outlines the 4 levels of access and their corresponding restrictions:

 

Who Can View the Page

Who Can Edit the Page

Public

Everybody

All Pro Members

Semi-Public

Everybody

Selected Pro Members
Authors, Editors, Administrators

Semi-Private

Everybody, but only via the URL

Selected Pro Members
Authors, Editors, Administrators

Private

Selected Users

Selected Pro Members
Authors, Editors, Administrators

You can add any number of users, groups, or roles as exceptions to a restriction. You can also apply restrictions to an individual page or to a page and all its subpages. 

The entirety of CA Connect is not private from the world, only specific pages are private to CA. Anonymous users are able to view CA Connect, but you can still choose to restrict them from certain pages. 

Restricting Access to a Page

Use the following steps to change the access settings of your page(s):

  1. Click on the Page options button.
  2. Select Restrict Access from the menu that appears.

  3. Select the restriction level that you want to apply to the page(s).
    If you select Semi-Public, Semi-Private, or Private, the following screen appears:

  4. Type a username or group name in the User or group field to add a user or group to the Permission list.
    If the username or group name exists in the system, it will be recommended. 

     

  5. Select a role for the user/group from the Has role dropdown. The role specifies the rights that the user/group has for the page(s).
                           
    Valid values include:

    • None - Provides no permissions on the page. User/group will not be able to access the page. 
    • Viewer - Allows the user/group to view, comment, and rate the page(s). 
    • Author - Allows the user/group to edit the page, along with all of the privileges of the Community Member.
    • Editor - Provides all of the privileges of the Community Member and the Author, along with the ability to Delete the page and apply permission changes (NOTE: You need to be an Editor to access the Restrict Access dialog).
    • Admin - Provides all of the privileges of Community Member, Author, and Editor, along with allowing UnsafeContent to add scripts that would usually be stripped out.  
  6. Click the Add to list button. 


    User/group appears on the Permission list:

     

  7. (Optional) Check the Apply permission settings to all subpages box.

    If you check the Apply permission settings to all subpages box, you need to choose one of the following options that appear: 

    • Keep existing permissions on subpages and add the difference of changes (safer) - This will add the changes you have made with the permissions to the subpages but will keep the current privileges if it differs from what you have configured on the parent page. Example: If you have a subpage that added JohnF to the privileges and he isn't added on the parent page privileges, then John will be kept on the page.
    • Overwrite all existing permissions on subpages to the ones set on this page - This will override all of the permissions on the subpages to use the permissions you have set and discard any differences.
  8. Click Save Permission Settings.